The Three Basins Initiative

Map of the 3 basins
Countries that participated in the Three Basins Initiative Summit 


The Three Basins Initiative is a platform for political leadership from across the countries of the Amazon Basin, the Congo Basin and Southeast Asia to advance the protection, sustainable use and restoration of their forests. 


The Initiative developed out of a summit of Heads of State and Government representatives from 31 countries across the Three Basins held in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo, on 3 June 2011. This summit was also attended by a number of partner organisations and agencies. 

At this meeting, the President of the Republic of Congo was mandated to facilitate and coordinate the development of a cooperation agreement in consultation with the countries of the Three Basins and the regional organizations: the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (ACTO), the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and the Central Africa Forests Commission (COMIFAC). The Republic of Congo continues to lead the work on advancing the cooperation agreement. 

Further information

For further information about the Three Basins Initiative Summit.